Grace S. Richmond

Advanced Search

Grace S. Richmond (18661959), American romance novelist created the Dr. R.P. Burns series.

Grace Louise Smith Richmond was born on 31 March, 1866, in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, the daughter of a Baptist clergyman.

Her first short stories were published in various women's magazines including the Women's Home Companion, Ladies' Home Journal, and Everybody's Magazine as early as 1898. Richmond wrote 27 novels between 1905 and 1936. Red Pepper Burns was published in 1910. Like most of her strong-willed yet compassionate characters, R.P. Burns is a kind, old-souled country doctor who makes house calls. His fiery red hair and temper to match earned him his nickname Red Pepper, though he is still a charming and endearing gentleman. Mrs. Red Pepper (1913), Red Pepper's Patients (1917), and Red of the Redfields (1924) followed.

The Second Violin was published in 1906. On Gay Street and On Christmas Day in the Morning followed in 1908 and Strawberry Acres in 1911. Richmond writes about romance, mystery, and a deep love for home in The Twenty-Fourth of June (1914). The Brown Study (1919), Foursquare (1922), and Cherry Square: A Neighbourly Novel (1926) were some of her works to follow. Grace S. Richmond died on 28 November, 1959, and is buried in the Forest Hill Cemetery, Fredonia, Chautauqua County, New York, USA.

Biography written by C.D. Merriman for Jalic Inc. Copyright Jalic Inc 2005. All Rights Reserved.

The above biography is copyrighted. Do not republish it without permission.

Recent Forum Posts on Grace S. Richmond

No active discussions on Richmond found. Why not post a question or comment yourself? Just click the link below.

Post a New Comment/Question on Richmond

Quizzes on Grace S. Richmond

No quizzes available to take yet.

Please submit a quiz here.

Related links for Grace S. Richmond

Here is where you find links to related content on this site or other sites, possibly including full books or essays about Grace S. Richmond written by other authors featured on this site.

    Sorry, no links available.

Art of Worldly Wisdom Daily
In the 1600s, Balthasar Gracian, a jesuit priest wrote 300 aphorisms on living life called "The Art of Worldly Wisdom." Join our newsletter below and read them all, one at a time.
Sonnet-a-Day Newsletter
Shakespeare wrote over 150 sonnets! Join our Sonnet-A-Day Newsletter and read them all, one at a time.