Thread: Emma

Jim

Emma

I'm studying Emma at A-level, and although i know that the novel's dialogue is extremely well thought out, i find the book extremely superficial. (spelling? Never mind.) A previous comment stated that the action revolves around them going to each other's houses and gossiping. And, it cannot be said that it is easy to read, but that is because of our time. <br><br>The novel does, however, create "another world", as statistics show that "Emma" is the most popular book that people read when they are ill. The soothing subtleties and graceful nuances provided an unrivalled feeling of escapeism. <br><br>Having said that, i do not recommend it to people of my age. Try Robert Rankin's "Apocalypso" and "The Dance Of The Voodoo Handbag". Classics.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim View Post
    I'm studying Emma at A-level, and although i know that the novel's dialogue is extremely well thought out, i find the book extremely superficial. (spelling? Never mind.) A previous comment stated that the action revolves around them going to each other's houses and gossiping. And, it cannot be said that it is easy to read, but that is because of our time. <br><br>The novel does, however, create "another world", as statistics show that "Emma" is the most popular book that people read when they are ill. The soothing subtleties and graceful nuances provided an unrivalled feeling of escapeism. <br><br>Having said that, i do not recommend it to people of my age. Try Robert Rankin's "Apocalypso" and "The Dance Of The Voodoo Handbag". Classics.