Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Love Song of J.Alfred Prufrock

The Love Song of J.Alfred Prufrock

(The Love Song of J.Alfred Prufrock)
    i need an explanation or comment on this poem by T.S.Eliot.
    please help me.

I studied it at school- I'm not sure if it was the whole of it that we analysed, but anyway it can be a start

I hope you can afford to wait, i'll post here my notes as soon as i can (maybe even later tonight, or in the next days anyway).
    dead on the inside, i've got nothing to prove
    keep me alive and give me something to lose

thank you Koa for your nice responde :P . i`ll be waiting for your reply coz i really need it a,s,a,u,c.
    To combat fear arm yourself with love. &
    To be yourself you must first let yourself be.

Here I am... i'll try to get a summary out of my old school notes

-Each line has a different number of syllables (im not sure this is the right spelling )
    -The 2 stanzas are not composed by the same number of lines
    -No regular rhyme

-In the first stanza the fog is compared to a cat, or anyway a feline animal ('rubs', 'licked its tongue', 'lingered', 'slipped', 'made a sudden leap').
    This is an unusual comparaison, as the fog is usually compared to a veil or a wall or soemthing like that ---> no traditional image (which is typical of Eliot and of that kind of modern poetry of ealry 20th century...)
    ---> personification of the fog, compared to an animal
    The punctuation and the run-on-line reflect the movements of the cat: they make the reader stop a bit, reproducing the way cats move/walk/stop.

I don't have much on the second stanza... quickly:
    line 5 (to prepare...meet): mask-afraid of other people
    l.6: murder and create: opposites
    l.7: long time, habit, routine, things are always the same
    l.8: the question is about routine
    l.9: another person appears
    l.10: not sure about anything (100 indecisions)
    plate (l.8 ), toast and tea---> everyday elements