Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Entertaining non genre fiction?

Entertaining non genre fiction?

I'm quite new to literature and haven't read much and I'm looking to read something now. I'm looking for recommendations on entertaining non genre fiction.

I've read some of the short stories from DF Wallace's Hideous Men and its been putting me to sleep. I've read some of the synopsises of Franzen's books and that alone almost put me to sleep.

So I'm looking something that isn't genre, but is entertaining. Also, I'd prefer something recent and I'd prefer short stories over something longer, but not necessarily on either of that.

Closed
    I can't help you much on short stories, but if you want good and interesting modern fiction try Wolf Hall and (the sequel) Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel. Those are technically historical fiction (set during the reign of Henry VIII), but they both won Man Booker so the Powers that Be at least consider them literature. You could also try Blood Merdian by Cormac McCarthy, which is set in the 19th century along the American/Mexican border; but be warned: it is very violent. Somewhat less violent but still very heavy would be Cormac McCarthy's Pulitzer-winning The Road. Get through the first 100 pages or so (which are beautifully written but a little slow) and after that you will find the novel enthralling, scary, and ultimately extremely moving. Another Pulizer Prize winner you may want to read is All the Light You Cannot See, which is the story of a blind girl in the doomed city of St Malo at the close of WWII (and a disillusioned ex-Hitler Youth, and how they got there). It made me wish Alfred Hitchcock was still alive so he could make it into a film.

Alas, nothing is short. But read an exciting book and you won't want it to end. Good luck!
    Last edited by Pompey Bum; 07-11-2016 at 07:52 PM.

Give Michael Chabon a go. His stuff is like really well written genre fiction.

Eiseabhal