Thread: Are these novels level-appropriate for high school seniors?

Are these novels level-appropriate for high school seniors?

It's my first time teaching a Lit course for a high school and they're letting me choose the books (3 or 4). Of course, it depends on the school and the level of the students, but in general, could I get away with the books on this list? (In terms of complexity, subject matter, and getting my students' interest.) My preference is for the first 3 or 4.

Beloved - Toni Morrison
    The Handmaid's Tale - Margaret Atwood
    Pale Fire - Vladmir Nabokov
    The Day of the Locust - Nathanael West
    A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man - James Joyce
    (if not Pale Fire) Lolita - Navokov
    Invisible Man - Ralph Ellison
    Ragtime - EL Doctorow
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime - Mark Hadon

I also welcome your suggestions. I wanted to choose some alternatives to the usual (Gatsby, Of Mice and Men, etc).
    Last edited by sudomucho; 04-18-2016 at 09:13 AM.

The only one of those that I've read is The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime. It is a good story. I enjoyed reading it. It is not a challenging read.

Edit: I have read Lolita too. This is rather a challenging read. It is quite long. It has long, complex sentences. I lost the thread in the third part of the book, which I think is the least good part of it anyway. It has one or two rude bits, but not excessively so. Overall, I think this is for advanced readers.
    Last edited by kev67; 04-19-2016 at 09:50 AM.
    According to Aldous Huxley, D.H. Lawrence once said that Balzac was 'a gigantic dwarf', and in a sense the same is true of Dickens.
    Charles Dickens, by George Orwell

On the road, but not! Danik 2016's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    The selection in itself is interesting but how old are your students?