Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Novel recommendation for a learner of English

Sait Faik Abasiyanik TheLastBirds's Avatar

Novel recommendation for a learner of English

I've been learning English with a detailed work schedule for 6 months. I can read news on BBC, Times etc. However, I didn't read so many books in English as I am so careful about understanding what I read except for non-literary texts. Eventually, I trust myself to read a novel written in English or translated to English. As it is first, I'm searching a novel that not too difficult to understand.

P.S. I can reach Oxford World's Classics easily, also they are economic in my country.
    Last edited by TheLastBirds; 05-22-2015 at 06:08 PM.

hi lastbirds---I think you will get many suggestions.

my first thought was something short by hemingway---the old man and the sea perhaps? he writes in simple sentences and that particular story is very straight forward.

alternatively, and hopefully this isn't insulting, have you thought of children's literature? Winnie the pooh, or charlotte's web come to mind.

I can heartily recommend reading Winnie the Pooh as an adult, because when I did, I found a great deal of humor that went right over my head as a child.

In general, I think Bounty's suggestion of books for children (or young adults, for that matter) is a good one. Something like the Harry Potter series, maybe?
    You must be the change you wish to see in the world. -- Mahatma Gandhi

I appreciate your affirmation calidore, thank you.

I was wondering about young adult literature too---and I like the idea of harry potter, and the hunger games trilogy too---in large part because of the popularity of the movies. I am thinking watching the movies after reading the books would be a great way to deepen understanding.

Thanks for suggestions.

I'm searching The Old Man and The Sea now, I hope I will find.