Buying through this banner helps support the forum!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stags and Snakes in Classical art

Stags and Snakes in Classical art

Hi everyone,

I'm currently an undergraduate in my final year of university. I am studying Art History and am starting work on my dissertation. Without going into too much detail, I'm looking at how the stag and snake (or dragon where appropriate) came to represent the conflict between Christ and the Devil, as it is depicted in a number of mosaics and written in various bestiaries and the Physiologus etc. What I am struggling with is finding evidence of this conflict in a pre-Christian context. As far as I'm aware, Aristotle made no reference to it in his Historia Animalium (though he does mention other enmities existing between beasts that are also reflected in Christian iconography - the eagle and the snake, for example). A few hundred years later, the conflict seems to be the invention of Pliny, and Aelian also later writes about it. They talk of how the stag lures snakes out of their lairs with their breath, before presumably trampling or consuming them. In a Christian context, the stag thirsts for streams of water as the soul longs for Christ (Psalm 42); according to the Physiologus, for example, he drinks from the stream and spits the water into the snake's lair to draw it out and destroy it. Of course, this scenario is reminiscent of the behaviour Pliny and Aelian describe, but their writings do not seem to suggest that the struggle between the two refers to some sort of turbulence between Greco-Roman deities or the like.