Thread: "Neglect" - Short Story

Smile "Neglect" - Short Story

Hey guys ,
    I have never written a short story before and have therefore never posted one. *this is also my first post!*
    I welcome the criticism as I've taken a new approach to this, but don't bite my head off please!
    Cheers!

"Neglect" - Short Story

It is almost time, and yet again I find myself baffled as to whether it will be worth it. The black alarm clock that sits upon my brown bedside cabinet reads eight o’clock, and I will undoubtedly be meeting her at precisely half past the hour. Whilst I myself am considerably indecisive, she is not. I contemplate meeting her every single time, but she always tells me that our time together is always cherished and that it is the most favourable part of her week. In fact, “seeing your bright-blue eyes are what allows me to persevere with my week” she tells me every Friday night.

The reason that I dwell on our consultations is because I know that the longer that they are continued, the harder it will become to let go. I’ve been seeing her routinely for two-and-a-half years since she moved out, and that is probably two-and-a-half years too long. Tommy, my seventeen year old son, is downstairs playing a video game with his friend. This is the most thought provoking fact, as I feel as though every time I leave him – he thinks that my shift starts at eight-thirty on a Friday – a lump appears in my throat, each week’s lump more difficult to swallow than the last.

My family are everything to me, yet I consistently seek something from her that I know that I can receive at home, after all I have been married for the best part of sixteen years. What is it that draws me to her? My wife touches me and I cannot help turning away. Facing another direction is the only method obtainable to me that helps to hide my shame. Well, alcohol normally does the job but I cannot always rely on a bottle of beer and ninety minutes of football to take away the pain.