Thread: The Complete Works: where to start?

The Complete Works: where to start?

Hello fellow Lit-netters,

this morning I received the Complete Works of William Shakespeare (1990 edition) from somebody who has studied English and who knew that I am studying English now too. I am intrigued by it and because I am pretty new to Literature, I definitely want to read it. The only problem I have is, I'm not sure where to start reading. Are there specific works that you would advise me to read first? Some varied works by him that you think are good to start off with? Or do you think that I should just read the index to try and see what seems interesting to me, and just start wherever?

All that I have read from him are three of his sonnets (17, 18 and something over 100, forgot which one exactly) and his play of Julius Caesar, so that is not much yet. If you have any advice for me on what I definitely should read (aside from the other plays, which are the more obvious things that I am already planning to read!) or how to go about the book, please let me know!

EvoWarrior5
    Last edited by EvoWarrior5; 11-23-2013 at 04:33 PM.
    Without any form of punctuation, our language would not say "I'm perfect"; it would say "imperfect".

"Access to works of art cannot be defined solely in terms of physical accessibility, since works of art exist only for those who have the means of understanding them."

Blog Entries
    I've enjoyed Midsummer Night's Dream. However, I would watch it first rather than read it. If you find something you would like to look at more closely, then the book comes in handy. There should be a few versions in your local library. I've seen this play many times.

Titus Andronicus would be one with a lot of violence in it. I saw the version that Anthony Hopkins was in. I don't want to see it again, but it stays in my memory.

I was grossed out with the antisemitism in Merchant of Venice.