Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Literature, Animals and Oppression: help me write my dissertation reading list?

Question Literature, Animals and Oppression: help me write my dissertation reading list?

Hey there all you lovely people,

I'm a student in London preparing to make my dissertation proposals and I'm fairly intent on writing something that would allow me to compare animal oppression to human oppression. The problem is, while I'm knee-deep in criticism and philosophy that I can utilise, I haven't read enough fiction that explores or alludes to the subject. And so, I have found myself here in this forum asking for your help.

An example I thought of was Germinal, in which the horses are kept purely as labourers (hello, Marx, Hegel, etc), the rabbit is... well, let's not talk about the rabbit. I get upset. Anywho, these characters are presented sympathetically by the author. And that's the kind of thing I'm looking for. Not the usual animal-human relationships, but something that reveals an ideology under the skin, as it were.

So yes, if any of you can think of novels you've read that might be helpful in my exploration of my ideas, that'd be awesome and lovely and I would be eternally grateful.

(My second proposal, in case any one is interested, is on the human obsession with their own mortality -- I also need novels to add to my list for this haha. Any one?)

Blog Entries
    In Gulliver's Travels, in one of his adventures, when he travels to the Country of Houyhnhnms he discovers a land which is ruled by intelligent horses, and there are these human like creatures called Yahoos, that the Houyhnhnms (the horse-folk) view as being savage, primitive creatures and it makes Guilliver reflect upon how horses are treated back in England.

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there, wondering, fearing, doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before. ~ Edgar Allan Poe

Thank you! That is so helpful