Thread: First page of short novel looking for feedback

First page of short novel looking for feedback

I am writing a short novel, trying to get the style of the writing down before I go into writing more. The basic story is about a man who joins the military right before world war 3 and his company is thrown into the front lines of the beginning battle.

I am looking for anything that will help improve my writing before I dive into the real story. I am still a novice writer so this is more a learning process than anything so please criticize my work in any way, harsh or not I don't mind.

Chapter 1
    New beginings

I was never really a fighting man, early in school I was the kid getting pushed around for no reason other than I allowed it. I wouldn't stand idlely by but I did not retailiate, it was more nerviousness than fear. It didn't take long for me to realize I could not let this happen and more then once the pent up anger and tugging urge for revenge got the best of me. By the time the freshman year came nobody really messed with me other than the odd senior who didn't know me. That was quickly snuffed out by my willingness to stand up and get in their face.

I think the loss of my father when I was a very young boy, maybe 4 or 5, had something to do with it. The lack of a father figure with only my mother raising me, it didn't help much. I lack the conviction a man must hold to succeed in life which only a man with his fathers wisdom passed on can give. I'm not saying in any way my mother did me wrong, she did wonderful and I would not expect nothing more, even much less. She was one of the main reasons I survived my early hardship in school and I loved her dearly.