Thread: "Free Play of Language/Meaning" or "No Closure"

"Free Play of Language/Meaning" or "No Closure"

Hello, I am a student of literature, I have een struggling with postmodernist writing techniques since I had very shallow courses of literature during my undergraduate ears. Now I keep trying to imagine how the free play of meaning/Language and especially the no closure would appear in a text. I know these are Derrida's terms, I know what he means by the no closure and no final truth, but theoretically only. I am unable to show this in a text. Now I am writing my dissertation about a Postmodernist novel, and I must include a section about the free play of meaning and escaping closure, but I just don't know how. Although postmodernist writers escape closure and authorial control, I just can't imagine how that happens in a text someone wrote willingly. If he wrote it it means he controls it, how is it possible that he has no control over his characters? And How is it possible that he escapes closure and final truth while when we arrive at the end of the novel we come up with a moral which is his main theme? Please help me, I'm lost. I can't ask my teachers these questions they will think I'm stupid and I don't deserve being a Master's student. Now at least I can ask the question anonymously.

That's not a stupid question at all; it sounds like one you've thought about a great deal. You may get an answer here ('fraid I can't help with that one), but I'd encourage you never to think you shouldn't go to a teacher with an honest question. And I certainly don't think you'll be booted out of your Masters classes for asking. :-)
    You must be the change you wish to see in the world. -- Mahatma Gandhi

Tu le connais, lecteur... Kafka's Crow's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Tellem Chaho View Post