Thread: Reading in translation

Reading in translation

I was doing some reading on Chaucer just now, and ran across a Literature Network post on reading 'The General Prologue to The Canterbury Tales' aloud. The text cited to be read was a modern English verse translation.

One of the repliers noted that you should not buy a prose translation to Chaucer, which, for some reason, made me a little annoyed. I'm a visiting student at Oxford for the next two terms, and I would be destroyed academically if I did not read texts in prose translations. Motivated and aggravated, I decided to share my personal experiences with you all in hope of enjoying and studying verse in translation all the better.

To be very blunt, if you're reading for academic purposes, you need to read translations in prose. If you read no further, just read that one sentence over again: Reading for academic purposes? Yes? Go prose or go home. When an editor/translator takes a passage and re-places it in verse, they have to meet the same restrictions the original author placed upon themselves - alliteration, meter, rhyme scheme, etc. This convolutes the text and, if you end up writing an analysis on Beowulf's brawn when the poet never actually wrote a word congruent to 'brawn,' you might be in a tough (*shhnap*) spot when it comes time to receive commentary from you teacher.