Thread: Jane Austen comparison questions

Account closed.

Jane Austen comparison questions

I am planning on reading Pride and Prejudice this spring or summer, maybe closer to summer, when I can devote more time to it. I have summers off, I work in a school. I have never read Austen, but cannot imagine neglecting to read her most famous book, being a classics fan!
    I have an interesting question, I hope. I am currently rereading Jane Eyre, which I LOVE!! I love the writing style; the formality of it, the suspense, and the wonderful narration by Eyre. I am wondering about a comparison in writing styles. I have not researched this, but as I am reading this book I can't help but anticipate reading Austen - the time period is not quite the same, but it is very close. I am thinking maybe you Austen fans and experts can chime in with your opinions, if you also like Charlotte Bronte, and if you see similarities in their work.

Here we go, time for a knowledgable post :D

I think there are a few things to consider. I think you are right about the timeframe issue: writing changed a lot from the 18th to the 19th century. Austen and Scott are products of the 18th century with a little bit of 19th century passion (Sturm und Drang, which still started in the 18th century in Germany with the famous Goethe and Schiller, i.a.).