Thread: i find some difficulty in teaching possessive adjective - noun to he students

i find some difficulty in teaching possessive adjective - noun to he students

Hello,

in the exam there was a question :
    what's your ------- name?
    a brother's
    b brother
    c his
    d him

the answer is : brother's

But most of the students wrote: brother

i need to explain that to them, but i failed

so can you help my how can i explain it to them since i have no experience in teaching ?

Quote Originally Posted by danah View Post
    Hello,

a brother's
    b brother
    c his
    d him

so can you help my how can i explain it to them since i have no experience in teaching ?
    This is a problem that comes up very often. It's due to the possibility of a correct interpretation in using brother rather than brother's. The question is whether or not the name is the possesion of your brother or yours. If it is yours, "your" in "your brother" already implies an "'s." People don't say Peter phone unless it is a Peter Phone, a phone named Peter. They say Peter's phone. But either brother name or brother's name has a correct interpretation in that question.
    It is impossible to argue the point with students, unless you can form them to be meticulously stupid and blind rule followers. Their choices make the language richer, not degenerate.

It's a good thing you failed. Besides, it would be petty to pretend not to understand when someone asks you what's your brother name. Oppenheimer and Edward Teller used to do these things on purpose. Ask the Shoguners.
    Last edited by cafolini; 11-11-2011 at 05:05 PM.

Hello,

a brother's
    b brother
    c his
    d him

Danah,

Are the students confused about "he" vs. "his" as well? Would they say "What's he name?"