Thread: Good, but simple, French, Russian and Spanish literature?

Good, but simple, French, Russian and Spanish literature?

Hey!
    So I'm starting to brush up on my foreign languages again, I studied French and Spanish in school for at least five years, never diligently but for some time anyway. I haven't really studied either languages in four years, but I'm really willing to try again since I want to read some of my favorite authors in their native tongue. Now, I'd like to read Lorca, Balzac, Camus or Stendhal, but I would imagine these are quite hard for a beginner/intermediate learner?

I added Russian since I'm starting classes in the spring, and my favorite authors (ever) are probably Gogol, Tolstoy and Chekhov, now for a COMPLETE beginner I imagine they are pretty much out of grasp, but I thought I'd ask since I know these writers well in English and Swedish, so the transition might be easy.

This is maybe from out of left field, but when I was studying Spanish years ago, I picked up Ariel Dorfman's "Konfidenz" in Spanish. I was intermediate, or a little better in the language, but you know all of that varies from person to person, system to system, reading v. writing, listening and reading, etc.

Anyhow, for the first page, I probably had to check the dictionary 10 or more times. By page ten, I was probably checking 2-4 times per page. By the end of the book, I was checking maybe once every 2-5 pages.