Page 1 of 10 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: Who do you like more Tolstoy or Dickens?

Who do you like more Tolstoy or Dickens?

I have read both writers's works massively. I like Dickens's style since I do not know Russian I cannot read Tolstoy's style and in translation the essence of it gets lost.

As a writer I find Tolstoy above and beyond Dickens's reach. Of coursed Dickens is amazing when it to comes to writing about poverty and man's predicaments, Tolstoy on the other hand outstrips him on several counts

Dickens is no doubt a sensible writer and he is considered a leftist writer and wrote somewhat against the rampage of capitalism.

However Tolstoy was far ahead of him considering his life and his feelings for the poor. He devoted his life to a cause. His life and works went in perfect harmony

Like both, hard for me to definitively choose one. I would say that Anna Karenina left more of an impact on me than any of Dickens' works. Haven't read all Dickens works yet either, though I really like David Copperfield.

Blog Entries
    I have mixed feelings about both, though I have not read extensively of either of them, Judging from what I have read I would say my opinion about them is about the same. Tolstoy at least is not quite as much of a tedious writer as Dickens's can tend to be at times. Though I do not deny the talent of either of them and acknowledge them both as being tremendous writers, but neither are among my personal favorites. But I do enjoy reading thier work.

I might say that perhaps I like Tolstoy a bit more becasue I think he captures the emotions of his characters more so than Dickens's does. Tolstoy is a more philosophical writer and so he does explore the inner workings of his characters a bit more so. His work feels more soulful.

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there, wondering, fearing, doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before. ~ Edgar Allan Poe