Thread: Techniques to write well?

Techniques to write well?

Hi,

I'm an amateur writer, and now I'm writing a story. Now, I'm surrounded by 80 pages. After I read my story, I found that I use plenty the word "Hence" and "So". For me, this happens due to the way I describe a story. I tend to describe story as a sequence in time. For example:

"I was doing a morning stroll when I found that I was being followed. Maybe it was because of my job. I decided to speed up my pace, so I could lost the guy who was following me. I decided to enter a store, so that I could have a hope to lost. When I was in the store, I bump to a beautiful girl. This girl looked like my late girlfriend. In this moment, my immediately thought was "Is this a flash back? Am I about to be killed? Will I found my beloved girlfriend?".

Maybe this is not a good example, but I can't find another right now. In this example, you can see that I try to write a story as sequence of time and of thoughts.

A sequence of time, because I describe a sequence of actions during a story.
    A sequence of thoughts, because I try use juxtaposition a lot.

I'm trying to find good techniques that can turn a story written by an amateur, as close as possible to a professional story. For me, the problem is not in the ideas, is in on writing well, describing actions and distribute the story through chapters.

Where can I find a place (books or sites) that helps me to write well?

Thanks
    Last edited by xeon123; 04-17-2011 at 04:23 AM.

One of the books I found most helpful was 'On Writing' by Stephen King. You'll find books on the craft written by established writers are much more useful than dry text books by self-proclaimed teachers of writing.

My other advice would be to read as much as possible - there's no short-cut to becoming a good writer.

H