Buying through this banner helps support the forum!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why Evolution is True

Why Evolution is True

The claim 'evolution is wrong' has come up (again) in the religious texts section, and I would like to address and refute it here. There is another thread about evolution already, yet I prefer to open up a new one, because the old one (http://www.online-literature.com/for...ht=creationism), altough interesting, is dead for quite some time, and rather long, which usually dilutes the actual topic.

The intent of this first post is to establish that evolution is a scientific fact as well as a standart theory. The intent of this thread is to debate or extend the arguments I will put forward here. Discussions about specific aspects or examples from nature are of course welcome too. Anyone who can challenge or improve the arguments I'll put forwards is welcome to join in.

By the way, I'm not a scientist, in fact I haven't even started college yet (but I'm pretty sure I'll study evolutionary (or socio-) biology). My arguments should not be believed because of anyone's qualifications, they should be convincing because of their factual value. People are welcome to google the issues I raise or ask real biologists about it, especially if you mistrust my intellectual honesty or my ability to filter out wrong propaganda from accurate, or at least accredited information. I've done a vast amount of research on the subject (creationism and ID too), so I'm confident I can give an accurate representation of the science behind evolution. I know this post is very long, but I try to condense the relevant information, and make it a worthy read (also for non creationists).

First of all, we need to clear up the terminology. Then I'll briefly describe the current knowledge about how life is related, and then I'll come to the evidence for first an old earth and then for evolution.

Terminology