Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where should I begin with Steinbeck?

Where should I begin with Steinbeck?

I was at the bookstore today and I came across a nice copy of The Winter of Our Discontent, but I passed it up because I wasn't sure this was the best place to jump into his writings.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Cool The best place to start Steinbeck ....

is with his shorter, humorous novels such as Cannery Row and Tortilla Flat. Before delving into The Grapes of Wrath, try In Dubious Battle. Grapes and East of Eden are considered his apogee. East of Eden is probably his longest novel and the hardest to read, especially if you are a young reader. To get in the mood for East of Eden, try Of Mice and Men. Steinbeck is a very prolific writer and one of America's best so don't give up on him.

Thanks

I studied a considerable amount of Faulkner and earlier American Literature, but none of my professors ever touched on Steinbeck. I have been pretty intrigued by people's conversations about his works and can't wait to dive in.

Thanks for the quick response.

I agree strongly with dfloyd. Cannery Row is a great place to start. But I disagree about East of Eden. I didn't find it hard to read at all, and it was the first Steinbeck I ever read. It's his longest, and most ambitious (I guess - I haven't read all of Steinbeck), but it's very readable. It's as philosophically dense as Steinbeck got, though, but if that's your thing, jump right in!

"Grapes Of Wrath" and "Of Mice And Men" were (in that order) the first two Steinbeck works I read, and having left strong impressions on me, they remain my favorites so far. Although I liked "Cannery Row", and to a lesser degree "Tortilla Flat", had I read them first, I think my view of Steinbeck as an author worth pursuing might not have been as strong.