Thread: Looking for Critique Partner

Looking for Critique Partner

I'm looking for a critique partner for short stories.

I don't feel comfortable posting my stories on the internet, I'd rather share them with only one or two people through email.. I would critique your stories in return.

Since I'm only 18 and not very experienced as a writer, I'm looking for someone who is about on the same level, not a professional writer (otherwise I wouldn't be of use critiquing their stories).

So here are some things about me and my writing:

I'm writing my first two short stories at the moment. One is a first draft and the other one is just a beginning of what seems to me a promising idea. I have written other texts earlier, but I don't like them.

I like stories that make you think or have some philosophical questions in them.

I enjoy reading various genres, mostly humor or just 'classic short story'. I'm also okay with romance once in a while. I have a great knowledge of science, especially biology, so I read science fiction too and would be well qualified to critique it. I like horror, but I think it's very hard to write a good horror story. I love stories about history or foreign cultures.

What really doesn't work for me are stories about 'the paranormal'. I'm not superstitious and these stories make me angry

I'm not religious either, but I am very fascinated by religion. I'd be willing to critique 'spiritual' writing too, especially since someday I'd like to write a love story between an atheist and a Christian.

What I expect for critiquing:

'Quick' replies: There will be long periods where I won't send anything, but when I actually do send work or comments -> in discussions, I'd like you to answer quickly. By quickly - I mean about two days on average or faster for shorter comments, or about two weeks on average for the first feedback for a short story (about 5000 words or less).