Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tao Te Ching, or Dao De Jing

Tao Te Ching, or Dao De Jing

I thought i'd open up a discussion for it.

Any particular favorite parts?

I find it to be a very thought provoking text, and it contains many truths... Though, I find some of it to be a bit impractical. Much of the text almost seems to be beckoning people to stop learning, and live a monastic life. Perhaps for the few, this is good, but for others it is a bit impractical. However I think if people, ESPECIALLY political leaders, would be a better place.

If nothing else, I think it is a thought provoking read. Though I have not finished its entirety yet, I studied a condensed version in college and decided to purchase a full text which I received in the mail.

Perhaps, it does not necessarily mean to force readers into a monastic life of not possessing things or learning much, but learning to let go of things and be objective when things seem to be out of control.

Any Daoists on this board? Buddhists who have studied Daoist Texts?
    "I teach you the Übermensch. Man is something that shall be overcome. What have you done to overcome him? … What is ape to man? A laughing stock or painful embarrassment. And man shall be that to the Übermensch" -- from Thus Spoke Zarathustra by Nietzsche

“Let the future tell the truth, and evaluate each one according to his work and accomplishments. The present is theirs; the future, for which I have really worked, is mine.” - Nikola Tesla

Some mesto, or another. Bog knows you wouldn't be able to viddy me from your okno.
    I'm still reading it as well and have allowed the "current" to take me.

I also have Zhaugnzi and have read portions of it.

I am intrigued by the Taoist conception of memory.

I have often quoted the 38th:

Superior virtue is unvirtue. Therefore it has virtue. Inferior virtue never loses sight of virtue. Therefore it has no virtue.

I copied this from an online text, I prefer my translation, which I will post later.