Thread: Macbeth Essay Act 1 Scene 7

Little Miss Ballerina :) Little_Miss_:)'s Avatar

Macbeth Essay Act 1 Scene 7

Hi,

I'm currently a high school student, and I'm needing some help at writing essays. At the moment we're studying Macbeth in Literature, but I thought, if someone wouldn't mind, they could read over my essay and give me a few tips or corrections? It would be much appreciated! I'm not very good at writing essays, and, although I normally do quite well in English, essays is one area in which I could improve in. I know my introduction is very weak, but I'm not sure how to write a strong introduction. I also think I need a longer or better conclusion, as mine sort of trails off. But I'm not really sure how to fix these things. As I said, any advice or criticism would be appreciated. Thank you! Here is my essay:

How does Lady Macbeth convince Macbeth to kill Duncan? (Act 1, Scene 7)

Macbeth is a Shakespearean tragedy which follows the protagonist Macbeth as he plots to kill the king of Scotland and to become king himself, after hearing a prophecy from three witches. It follows Macbeth's journey of betrayal, guilt, and murder, until his final downfall. This scene details Macbeth's first soliloquy, in which he decides not to follow through with their plan of regicide, and the remainder of the scene consists of his wife, Lady Macbeth, arguing with him to change his mind. Lady Macbeth uses emotive language in contrast to he husband's logically thought out reasoning, and appeals to his sense of honour in his own masculinity by insulting it.