Thread: Need some Keats help!

Need some Keats help!

Hello, I am currently taking a literature class and have been assigned a research essay. I was given the poem "Ode on a Grecian Urn" and I'm lost. Does anybody have any ideas for what I could write my paragraphs on. I've never written a research paper on poetry before and I just have no clue. Any help would be much appreciated.

This particular poem is a paradox

human and changeable vs. permanent and immortal
    life vs art
    the art frozen and imprinted on the urn vs the active life it portrays

He views the urn as both an art as well as the life portrayed on there (imagining the real people portrayed)

There is some discrepancy regarding the last lines that might be interesting to look into for a thesis.

Good luck with your paper

Oh and make sure to use the MLA format when writing a research paper

Now that would be telling it, wouldnt it?
    Blog Entries
    Beauty is truth and truth beauty > it's that poem isn't it?
    Well I guess the first thing you need is an angle or question. what exactly is it you are looking at? for instance you could look at seeing how well the peom fit into Romantic ideals and comparing it to ideas of other Romantic poets like Byron or Shelley.
    You could disect the poem itself. You coulld compare it to Keats' other odes. Really it depedns how you want to go with it. :d
    My mission in life is to make YOU smile
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The time has come," the Walrus said,"To talk of many things:

Forum Rules- You know you want to read 'em

|Litnet Challange status = 5/260
    |currently reading

Look up the term Ekphrasis, and search Shakespeare's sonnets for the quote the ending is based on. Other than that, you may wish to consider the nature of poetry itself, and its relation to time.

Quote Originally Posted by JBI View Post