Thread: help me understand

help me understand

I'm reading Pride & Prejudice with difficulty. Some sentences are confusing me. Can somebody explain in plain English what these sentences mean?
    - Chapter 2: Mrs. Long and her nieces must stand their chance; and therefore, as she will think it an act of kindness, if you decline the office, I will take it on myself.
    - Chapter 4: They were in fact very fine ladies; not deficient in good humour when they are pleased, nor in the power or being agreeable where they chose it;
    - Chapter 4: They were of a respectable family in the north of England, a circumstance more deeply impressed on their memories than that their brother's fortune and their own had been acquired by trade.
    - Chapter 4: Mr. Bingley had not been of age two years, when he was tempted by an accidental recommendation to look at Netherfield House.
    Thank you so much.

Quote Originally Posted by inge View Post
    I'm reading Pride & Prejudice with difficulty. Some sentences are confusing me. Can somebody explain in plain English what these sentences mean?
    - Chapter 2: Mrs. Long and her nieces must stand their chance; and therefore, as she will think it an act of kindness, if you decline the office, I will take it on myself.
    If you decline to do it yourself, I will do it myself. (The "office" is a position, such as the office of President of the United States.)
    - Chapter 4: They were in fact very fine ladies; not deficient in good humour when they are pleased, nor in the power of being agreeable where they chose it;
    ...they had the power to be agreeable (friendly) when they chose to.

- Chapter 4: They were of a respectable family in the north of England, a circumstance more deeply impressed on their memories than that their brother's fortune and their own had been acquired by trade.