Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: The Magical World of Children’s Book Illustration

Blog Entries

The Magical World of Children’s Book Illustration

I thought of starting this thread for sometime. I felt that it could be of particular interest to those of our members on the forum, who are either parents or grandparents, as I recently have become the later; therefore I wish to dedicate this thread to my darling grand-daughter, Brooke Elise.

I am forever collecting pictures from internet sites of all types of artwork, being trained as an artist myself and an illustrator - so this field particularly attracts my attention. I often come across beautiful and magical children’s illustrations. It amazes me what great skill and imagination these (often under appreciated) authors/artists possessed and how ambitious they were. I look forward to the days I can read Brooke many of these wonderful stories filled with such vivid and imaginary imagery.

When I discover a new child’s illustrator, I love to learn more about them, their life story and how they got their start in the field. Usually, there is a very interesting story behind it as is the case, with the first illustrator I will list here. Indeed they possess a double talent - that of an author and a highly imaginative artist. They have provided our youth with so much delight and joy over many generations that words of graditude fall short of fully appreciating their fine talents. What would the world be like without illustrated children's books to delight the youngest reader?