Thread: Ghosts

Ghosts

This is a little more autobiographical than I'm used to writing, but please don't let the personal nature of the piece stay your hand. I'd still like some constructive criticism as I'm not good at writing first person at all.

Also, do you think that a switch into present tense would help the piece, or is it better as past tense?

~*~

I got a call from my grandpa asking me to go to the home where my Nana is. Apparently, she was having an "episode" and, with him in pain and my mom out of town, I was next up to go sit by her bed. Left little choice, I agreed and headed there.

I parked along the side of Dorchester and got out of my car. In front of me, an old man in a walker was hobbling as fast as he could towards me. Lift - drop - step; lift - drop - step. Behind him, a loud alarm wailed and he gave me a surprisingly roguish grin. "They won't catch me this time," he asserted.

I smothered a laugh, but returned the grin. "Hang a left, sir. They won't think to look for you there." He gave me a conspirator wink and picked up the pace, rounding the corner.

As he disappeared from sight, three men in uniforms burst out of the door. "A man in a walker, where did he go?" one of them demanded, looking around wildly.

"I sent him up toward the ER's dead-end," I replied truthfully.

"Thanks," one said as they continued the chase. I passed them and headed into the building. Up ahead at the main counter sat a woman reading a book - to her side, my Nana sat in a wheelchair, a tray of food in front of her. She was staring off into space, her mouth hanging open, a globe of something green on her chin.