Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can anyone recommend authors like Ray Bradbury?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Eastern Kentucky
    Posts
    83

    Can anyone recommend authors like Ray Bradbury?

    I want someone full of awesome. =)
    I've read Martian Chronicles, Fahrenheit 451 and most of Dandelion Wine.
    I also plan on checking out more of Bradbury himself, obviously.
    Oh and I think I liked Martian Chronicles most. What I'm looking for is the horror-tinged moments of his stories.. not necessarily horror itself, I'm not into Poe/Lovecraft. And I'm usually not into sci-fi, either. So I'm not entirely sure what I'm getting at here. Perhaps someone else will see what I'm saying and can think of someone "similar" to Bradbury. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Fingertips of Fury B-Mental's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    a rock on a beautiful mountain
    Posts
    4,569
    Blog Entries
    140
    I've found that Azimov was similar to Bradbury in some aspects. They were writing in the same period, but Bradbury is singular, and really without compare in his genre. I would recommend the book "Something Wicked This Way Comes" to you.
    "I am glad to learn my friend that you had not yet submitted yourself to any of the mouldy laws of Literature."
    -John Muir


    "My candle burns at both ends; It will not last the night; But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends - It gives a lovely light"
    -Edna St. Vincent Millay

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,380
    You say you do not usually read sci-fi, but you may enjoy C S Lewis' Out of the Silent Planet, Voyage to Venus and That Hideous Strength (I think that's the title of the last of the trilogy). They are a bit dated and have a sub-text but are enjoyable.

    Philip K Dick wrote some stories that have been made into films - the plots have aged reasonably well but the language is a bit dated.

    I enjoyed Robert Silverberg's Lord Valentine's Castle and the books that followed it - character wins over sci-fi fantasy. Lord Valentine is on my list of Fictional Characters I Would Most Like to Meet!

  4. #4
    Voice of Chaos & Anarchy
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In one of the branches of the multiverse, but I don't know which one.
    Posts
    7,030
    Blog Entries
    471
    Try C. M. Kornbluth, if you can find any of his works. The ones he wrote with Fred Pohl are OK.

Similar Threads

  1. Pictures of Authors
    By fayefaye in forum General Literature
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 01-05-2019, 05:45 PM
  2. Discuss literary movements
    By wordsworth in forum General Literature
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 12:37 PM
  3. The authors you grew up with
    By Taliesin in forum General Literature
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 01:11 AM
  4. Robertson Davies should be included in the list of authors
    By Lylith in forum General Literature
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 10:28 AM
  5. Test your knowledge of world literature
    By Aiculík in forum Forum Games
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-16-2007, 02:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •