Thread: Literature courses in High School

Literature courses in High School

Hello,

I am not good at literature. Unfortunately, it's one of my worst subjects. I already have some kind of American Literature class right now (junior year), and we juniors are currently signing up classes for next year for senior year. I am wondering which one to choose for the literature credits, but my teacher told us that make sure take a class that is a little more challenging so that we can get more knowledge to be prepared for college literature stuff, so thus I don't want to take too easy class, but at the same time, not too hard class. I'm thinking about taking Shakespeare class, and I'm not sure if this is a hard class or not. Also, for other half, I have to choose British Literature, and I don't know if that's hard, either. So, can anyone give me a suggestion on how to pass these classes with ease? In other words, should I choose these classes (I don't want hard literature stuff, but unfortunately, I have to expand my knowledge on it for college), or should I consider different class?

Thanks,

J.

Banned
    Blog Entries
    I would go for the Shakespeare class, but I've never really had issues reading his works. I pull them out for fun, so I guess that may be why I lean towards that. Does your school offer any sort of a gothic literature class or a science fiction one? They would still not be the easiest, but they are pretty interesting to take. We read Misery by Stephen King, in my Gothic Lit class.

Shakespeare is quite easy, especially since you can get cliff notes versions or watch some of the excellent movies to go along with it (I recommend Branagh versions). Hell, you might even wind up liking Shakespeare and literature a bit more once you've read him and allowed yourself to become immersed in his writings enough.