Thread: Help teaching grammar

first year teacher

Help teaching grammar

Hello all,

This is my first posting on the lit network. I discovered the site by accident this morning by googling "teaching british literature to lower levels" (an endeavor that has proved the bain of my existence for the past four months) and found a very helpful discusssion on the subject. So, to inaugurate my presence here on this forum, I have a question (so many questions...) about teaching grammar. I am a first year teacher and inherited three "lower level" classes, consisting of juniors and seniors who are in desperate need of some basic writing skills. I thought I would begin with basic grammar (parts of speech) but the unit was unsuccessful. Is there an approach you would recommend for teaching writing basics that either does or does not incorporate grammar in a way students can understand? Do you think grammar is the starting point for improvement in basic writing skills or should I go another route?

Many thanks for any advice/experience shared.

Welcome aboard, firstyear. It's good to have you in this forum - you write very well, and I'll look forward to seeing more of your material as time goes on. Congratulations on your newly-chosen profession - we certainly need lots more just like you.

I have to emphasize the fact that I am NOT a teacher, so you should take that into consideration when reading my suggestion.

I thought the most valuable exercise in learning grammar was the diagramming of sentences. Now it almost scares me to mention that this happened more than fifty years ago (it doesn't seem that long ago), so I don't even know if this practice continues today.

And while there are other forums for discussing the Boston Red Sox, I hope you are a fellow fan.
    Last edited by DickZ; 01-14-2008 at 12:53 PM.

Smile My Advice Is...

Dear Member,