Thread: Milton in today's literature

Undergrad

Thumbs up Milton in today's literature

Well I as it turns out I purchased The Riverside Milton. A great investment I'd say, nowt hat I've babbled in it over and over-hardly recognizable.

As I'm studying his greater works, I have to ask, why is he so unknown? He presents very valid arguments in his Areopagitica and L'Allegro vs. Il Penseroso are very common contrasts that apply to many literary aspects. Not to mention Paradise Lost and the obvious reference to reclaiming Eden.

Anyone have any valid ideas as to why John Milton isn't so well known?

I don't think Milton is really any more less known than Dante and a lot of the other great poets. He seems pretty established as a legend to me, both in terms of academic recognition and survival in popular culture.

But, to answer your question, maybe it doesn't seem that way because they haven't made a movie?

Quote Originally Posted by Dan_The_Man View Post
    Anyone have any valid ideas as to why John Milton isn't so well known?
    At the beginning of my Milton class, the prof was saying that Milton was doing just fine until the modernists came along. Pound and Eliot seemed to think Milton wasn't necessary (they seemed to favor the transcendental poets (contemporaneous with Milton) who achieved "unification of sensibility", or something like that) and so, rather frighteningly, the opinions of these two guys seem to have basically wiped Milton out.
    As I search for something a little more specific, however, this is all I can find - from Wiki:
    The Victorian age witnessed a continuation of Milton's influence; George Eliot[17] and Thomas Hardy being particularly inspired by Milton's poetry and biography. By contrast, the early 20th century, owing to the critical efforts of T. S. Eliot and Ezra Pound, witnessed a reduction in Milton's stature.