Thread: Advice on improving critical reading skills?

Advice on improving critical reading skills?

Hello everyone! I am a high school student and out of the three sections on the SATs, I always find the critical reading to be most difficult. Seeing as this is a forum devoted to teaching, I figured it would be best to post this here. Does anyone have any tips, suggestions, or personal anecdotes they can share regarding improving one's ability to read critically?

My teachers in school have told me that the best way to improve critical reading is by, well, reading, but I didn't find that all too insightful. Perhaps one of the many English scholars here can help me. Thank you very much in advance! ;]

"Critical reading" means you read with a purpose - you read as if you're looking for something and you read paying attention to the natural questions that good literature creates.

A few ideas: as you read, be clear that nothing that happens in a book - especially fiction - had to be there, had to happen in the way it happened, in the place it happend. All stories, all essays are constructed via a series of choices a writer makes. A critical reader will be asking questions in her head as she reads:

1. Why did the writer make this choice (and not some other choice)?
    2. Why did the character do that and not this?
    3. Why did this incident happen in this particular location and at this point in the story?
    4. This word/phrase/sentence/paragraph/scene/chapter seems out of place - why? What is being emphasized here? Things that seem abnormal are the writer's way of throwing you a "speedbump" - slow down and see what s/he might be trying to point your attention towards.
    5. What are you not being told/shown? Why might the author be concealing this information from you?