Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need recommendations for history books

I need recommendations for history books

Hi, I am a high student school student and I would like to learn about american and world history. I havn't started history yet, but I would like books that would carry me over to university. What two books would you guys recomend? They should be one-volumed, authoritive, and inclusive. I have heard that A People's History of The United States is a good american history book, but I have no clue what to get for world history. Any advice and recommendation would be aprreciated, thanks.

On world history, try Extremes: The Short Twentieth Century (1914-1991), by Eric Hobsbawm. For previous periods, try the "Era of" series.
    Ningún hombre llega a ser lo que es por lo que escribe, sino por lo que lee.
    - Jorge Luis Borges

Right in the happy button IWilKikU's Avatar
    Waynesboro, Virginia. The beautiful Shenandoah Valley
    Most world history books can't be all that inclusive. If you want books that will carry over into university, I recomend getting area or time/sittuation specific books. For example, Simon Schama's History of Great Britain, or a book on the prodestant Reformation. Those are the types of books that would be the most useful in more than one history class.
    ...Also baby duck hat would be good for parties.

15 miles or so north of the city of london
    For world history, you might try A Brief History of the Human Race by Michael Cook, or Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond.

JM Roberts has done a one-volume History of the World which is good.
    Faith is believing what you know ain't so - Mark Twain

The preachers deal with men of straw, as they are men of straw themselves - Henry David Thoreau

The way to see faith is to shut the eye of reason - Benjamin Franklin

The teaching of the church, theoretically astute, is a lie in practice and a compound of vulgar superstitions and sorcery - Leo Tolstoy

Banned
    Blog Entries