Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Fairytales vs. reality..which would you choose?!

Blog Entries

Fairytales vs. reality..which would you choose?!

Okay..
    I'm studying Plato's The Republic...in my Literary Criticism course this term..
    And some parts in it got me wondering about certain things..
    Like what Plato said about Fables..and Fairytales..and them being bad influence on the new generations...yes he meant the poets' stories about Gods and Goddesses fighting and all...and yes he refused the stories about heros and idols and picturing them in a negative way...
    But coming to think about it...
    I think that this can apply to nowadays...from anther prospective though...that is,
    should we tell our kids, nowadays, fairytales which end with happy endings and all...or should we shock them with a reality, they'll know sooner or later?!
    Don't you think that making our little new generations ready for what's coming ahead, and making them familiar with what's happening in the world is better for them, than telling them stories, which , once they grow up, they'll know it's a mere lie,if I might say, and it was pointless?
    Do you consider not allowing kids to see news, or not allowing them to watch certain things on tv, do you consider this a protective precaution?!
    And what exactly is it protecting them from?!
    is it protecting them from things...that they'll sure face someday?!
    I know that Plato didn't mean any of this in his dialogues..
    But this was just a question that popped to my head..
    I'm the patron saint of the denial,
    With an angel face and a taste for suicidal.