Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Austen

New to Austen

Hey, I'm new to Jane Austen but i have to study her books for when I start A levels in september so I was wondering if you could suggest one of books that is relatively easy to read. Thanks!

Albano Laziale, Italy / Pennsylvania, USA
    Blog Entries
    i've heard that pride and prejudice is very good - i'm only just starting to read it now, but everyone i've talked to loved it.

I loved Pride and Prejudice and then I started Emma in hope that it would be good too, but to my astonishment, it was extremely boring.
    I sang of leaves, of leaves of gold, and leaves of gold there grew.

Pièce de Résistance Scheherazade's Avatar
    I don't consider Emma a boring book at all. Both the book and the character Emma herself are realistic and entertaining. Her shortcomings, which are more clearly shown than those of Elizabeth Bennet's, make her very endearing to me.

I found Northanger Abbey the easiest one to read. It does not require the analytical reading Austen's other books do, I think (and it is relatively shorter as well).
    Last edited by Scheherazade; 03-03-2006 at 01:39 PM.
    ~
    "It is not that I am mad; it is only that my head is different from yours.”
    ~

Emma might be realistic but I found the novel very slow-moving and not full of action, so it did not appeal me at all.

To me, Pride and prejudice was five times better than Emma.

Now that would be telling it, wouldnt it?
    Blog Entries
    only five?

Now I love mansfield park. I just do. A;lthough I belive it may well be the longest of her books
    My mission in life is to make YOU smile
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The time has come," the Walrus said,"To talk of many things:

Forum Rules- You know you want to read 'em

|Litnet Challange status = 5/260
    |currently reading

Pensive and Nightshade,