Thread: Blakes view of innocence

Question Blakes view of innocence

hey everybody I need help with my exam preparation! I was asked to conduct background research on William Blake and what the words innocence and experience actually meant to him but wherever I look I just keep getting conflicting views. Does anybody have any clear, definite ideas? Would really appreciate your help!

xx

Hello, I'm studying Blake at the moment as well so I hope I can help a little.
    As far as I can make out, Blake wrote the innocence poems to difine love in a spiritual sense. Blake viewed innocence as being an inexperienced mind, where a person is closer to God as the mind is unclogged with material thoughts - like a child. In innocence 'The Chimney Sweeper' is unaware of being exploited and accepts his fate happily in the knowledge that when he dies he will go to heaven. Experience is just the opposite but then even a child can loose it's innocence easily such as 'The Chimney Sweeper' who knows he is exploited by his parents and the Church.
    Blake was not really interested in the Church (mainly influenced by Swedenborg) but considered love to be the real key to spirituality. Did not like institutions including the Church.
    Hope I have been some help.

Thanks

Thats really interesting and thankyou for your help it was really useful. I did some of my own research from two analysis books of Blakes songs of Innocence and Experience and found that his 'voice of a child' is used to capture the naivety of innocence (or ignorance?) and how blind conformity is exposed and abused by people such as the Church in Blakes day. Your ideas reinforce this so I'll make a really in-depth presentation now, thanks a lot

xx

X (or) Y=X and Y=-X Jean-Baptiste's Avatar
    Blog Entries

William Blake's repentance