Thread: Which pieces of literature do you think a writer can learn something from?

Which pieces of literature do you think a writer can learn something from?

I am an aspiring writer and am always reading a lot and watching a lot of films, both for pleasure, but also in the hope of learning something. I'm wondering what pieces of literature you think a modern writer could learn something from and what specifically do you think a writer could learn from that piece?

I'll give a couple of examples to demonstrate what I mean.

#1 Dubliners

I did not enjoy Dubliners, but I DID get something out of them as a writer. What was instructive in Dubliners was seeing the level of subtlety that you can write on. I don't think I WANT to write with as much understatement, but it did expand my idea of what is possible in that sense and I think there will be instances when I will be able to apply that.

#2 Sweet Smell of Success

This is a film, not literature, but it serves to explain what I mean.

Quite simply, SSoS demonstrated to me how good dialogue can be.

Blog Entries
    After a certain point I was no longer influenced by literature as much. Too much literature is the same! There just isn’t enough variety in literature yet. The major publishing corporations, academia, & prestigious literary magazines all still have too much influence on literature, and have retarded its advance. The best literature of the human race is not in its past, but in its future, when the writer will be more free to do what he wants to.