Thread: Walk a mile

Walk a mile

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forum. I haven't written a story in years, but decided to try and get back into it tonight. This took me a couple of hours - it's a genre and a setting that I've never done before (modern horror), and I would love any feedback. I feel my writing isn't terribly imaginative as far as plots are concerned. This is my revised second draft.

---------------------

Jim Ackerman cursed as his engine spluttered and died. The rain was beating down harder and he was still miles from home.
    “Piece of ****ing ****!”
    He slammed his fist on the dashboard. The engine gave a final cough of protest and fell silent. Cursing again, Ackerman fumbled for his coat on the back seat. The rain showed no sign of stopping, and he had to be home in time for the game. He had two hundred bucks riding on it. He’d have to take a cab. He reached into his coat pocket for his wallet and froze. It was gone.
    He let a stream of expletives loose as his anger mounted. It must have been that old gypsy freak that bumped into him earlier outside the convenience store.
    “Dammit to hell!”
    Pulling his coat tightly around him, he got out of the car, out into the driving rain. After aiming a kick at the recalcitrant vehicle, he started off down the street.
    Setting a brisk pace, he walked for a good twenty minutes until he reached the corner of Washington Avenue. As he turned down the street, a voice startled him.
    “Hey buddy, spare a dollar for a cup of coffee?”
    It was a tramp, one of the many down-and-outs who occasionally wandered through this neighbourhood, carrying their miserable belongings with them on their backs. This one was a elderly black man, his face lined and worn, wearing a dirty brown overcoat. A fraying hat sheltered his head from the rain. Scumbag was probably a thief and a drug addict, thought Ackerman.