Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: If you like Jane Eyre...

  1. #1
    katie
    Guest

    If you like Jane Eyre...

    I know all lovers of this novel will enjoy two books. the first being Wide Sargossa Sea by Jean Rhys. This is a prequel written in the 60s explaining the story of Bertha, the crazy wife in the attack and her life in the West Indies. and the second being The Eyre Affair by jasper fforde. this is a science fiction type suspense novel surrounding the abduction of the original manuscript of Jane Eyre. the fictional characters in the novel do make several appearances and speculation about the ending is inferred. check 'em out

  2. #2
    Borimir Fan
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    1
    Agree about Wide Sargasso Sea. Studied it at Uni before I had even read Jane Eyre and loved it. Must look up The Eyre Affair have heard it mentioned just recently.

  3. #3
    Woman from Maine sciencefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by katie View Post
    I know all lovers of this novel will enjoy two books. the first being Wide Sargossa Sea by Jean Rhys. This is a prequel written in the 60s explaining the story of Bertha, the crazy wife in the attack and her life in the West Indies. and the second being The Eyre Affair by jasper fforde. this is a science fiction type suspense novel surrounding the abduction of the original manuscript of Jane Eyre. the fictional characters in the novel do make several appearances and speculation about the ending is inferred. check 'em out
    I loved Jane Eyre because of the beautiful Elizabethan/Victorian language and phrasing that was used to write it,
    not necessarily because of the story line itself.

    When I was finished Jane Eyre,
    my librarian turned me toward Jane Austen's writing for which I was truly grateful.
    Last edited by sciencefan; 06-16-2007 at 07:22 AM. Reason: add a queen

  4. #4
    Registered User monellia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    16
    Yeah, I think fans of Jane Eyre would be more interested in reading similar authors (the Brontes; Austen; Hoffman), or novels written in a similar style, rather than texts that pertain to the book itself. I thoroughly enjoyed the description and the aesthetical features which made it a pleasure to read, but I can't say the plot had any gret impact.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    I enjoyed the movie 2006 of Jane Eyre the best
    Last edited by lamie; 02-05-2014 at 06:22 PM.

  6. #6
    Registered User kelby_lake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3,620
    Rebecca definitely

Similar Threads

  1. GREAT GREAT GREAT BOOK EVA
    By JEN in forum Pride and Prejudice
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-21-2008, 07:38 AM
  2. Jane Eyre
    By Joan Cheung in forum Jane Eyre
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 10:19 AM
  3. Jane Eyre
    By lorien in forum Book & Author Requests
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-03-2004, 04:19 PM
  4. Jane Eyre...PLEASE
    By MISSMOOHERSELF in forum General Literature
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-04-2003, 06:05 PM
  5. Jane Eyre
    By Vronaqueen in forum The Literature Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2002, 12:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •