View RSS Feed

Shannanigan's Search for More...

Restlessness

Rate this Entry
These Great Returns of mine are turning out to not be so Great after all, so I'm just gonna be honest and say, "Hey, I'm here, but I'm a big bad busy teacher now, and I may not be around every day."

But here I am! I survived Hurricane Omar (which decided to become a Category 3 just before hitting us) and have recieved a few days off of school in return, which I have decided to use to get back into my much-missed writing.

So much blog-worthy stuff has been going through my head lately. First off, there is the fact that, well, I have attempted to write quite a few novels in the past couple of years. What always winds up happening, though, is that my impatience gets the best of me, and I drop it.

I remember reading once that a novelist should always have the ending of their novel in their head as they begin to write it, so that they know what direction they are going in. I've never, ever, had an ending in my head for any of my prospective novels. I don't know, I hate ending things, or maybe I just didn't have a strong enough message to know where I was going with the story, who knows? I am, after all, an amateur.

This current project though, I feel good about. I came up with the ending FIRST, and am building the book around it. To solve my issue with impatience, I am instead making the book a collection of short stories which are related to each other, and which will all tie in at the end for the ending I have come up with.