View RSS Feed

Yet Another Blog

freshy day 1

Rate this Entry
First day of school. I wasn't really expecting anything; in fact I hadn't even realized a few days back that I'd be going back to school.. Or, well, not really back. Yeah, back in the sense that I'm studying again but it's not really back because it's a new school, er, now a university, lol, new campus, new everything, really.. And oddly enough the only thing that's not new is my mom. Yup, I am now a student at the same university where my mom built--is still building--her career.

It's not like we haven't talked about it; we've talked about it a lot and I'm glad that she knows what this could mean for me. In school it's never difficult for me but I really don't want to be known as her daughter. It's too bad since our Class Cards require complete names; that is to say, last name, given name, middle name. (*Note: over here given name can mean one or more, hence "amanda isabel;" middle name meaing the mother's maiden name, and of course, last name, father's family name. Interesting how name formats vary across countries, eh?) And of course it's easy to say that we have either the same last name or middle name but not both. Well anyway my mom's colleagues--people I grew up knowing!-- know what to do. They've gone through it enough. And me, I don't have any plans of getting noticed that way.

Well I didn't run into my mom first day of college, and I went through the same thing other students did: orientation on my own, classroom hunting on my own... Making small talk here and there.

I didn't know about the orientation but I was thankful that I wasn't able to sleep (I was up at 4 am!) as my friend sent me an SMS asking where I was because Orientation was beginning in half an hour. (My first class today was at 11.30; his was at 7 am).