View RSS Feed

Om

My teachers

Rate this Entry
A few weeks ago - longer? - I was reflecting on my life and my teachers, and I realized how many of the German geniuses and poets have been important to me. . . It roughly went Hesse - Goethe, Japsers, Fichte, Meister Eckhart, Nietzsche, Schopenhauer - these last two are wonderful to read, but also to set down, as they, especially the former, emphasized thinking for oneself above all else - and so many times it has come back to Goethe, and others - then, when I started studying from Novalis, was when I really began to realize how many German poets and thinkers were there. Meister Eckhart was a Christian mystic, I believe he must have influenced Goethe to some extent.

http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Meister_Eckhart

Some interesting thoughts by Hesse:
http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Hermann_Hesse

Today I was looking up quotes by Novalis and came across a very interesting thing - the Leaflets of the White Rose. Leaflets of the White Rose

That quote was from here:
http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Novalis ; it's slightly different than the translation on the site given above.

These beautiful leaflets were put out during the war in the 1940's in Germany. .

One thing that I found most striking and interesting - a couple months ago, I was reflecting on the state of the world, how we can create peace, and help save the ecosystem, the balance of biodiversity - and I realized that one helpful thought is that there is a war machine - as surely as there is a refrigerator; it is much vaster, with many more moving parts, but it is a machine none-the-less, and it can be turned off. . .we can do so, we can achieve this; all it takes is enough action and shift of consicousness in the right places. . . we can do this.

An interesting quote from the site: (of leaflet #3)