View RSS Feed

Halls of the Dark Muse

I Throw Knives

Rate this Entry
I have recently taken up a new hobby, which is actually something I have been interested in for a very long time, knife throwing. Why knife throwing some silly person might ask, when the answer is obvious.....because it is awesome, and it makes you bad ***, and in some situations it could prove to have a practical use. It is good to have a wide variety of resourceful skills.

Last year I ordered a set of Kunai throwing knives

2015-01-22 15.35.36.jpg

And I will say I am quite impressed with myself because the first couple of times I threw them the cord which is wrapped around the blades on two of the knives (the one the left and the one on the right) completely unraveled. I do not think that the cord actually plays a functional use for the knives, I think it is just for a soft grip and looks, but when I got home I studied the one that was still intact and rewapped the other two and I am quite impressed with how it came out. I don't know how long it will hold up when I start to use them but it cannot be any worse than they were before.

But for the longest time since I bought them they had just been sitting on the shelf because I didn't really have good place around the house where I could practice with them without the risk of either one of the knives going over the fence into the neighbors yard, or doing damage to the property or causing injury. There are a lot of cats, including a couple of my own around the place which could potentially get in the path of a knife that had gone awry and off target.

Finally the idea dawned on me that I could do some throwing up at the park that is down the street from my house. It is a big open area and in the mornings particularly, when I go out, it is usually deserted. There would be minimal risk of doing any damage to anyone or anything or of losing my blades.