View RSS Feed

OrphanPip

Making an odd decision.

Rate this Entry
So, I haven't done a blog in a while, but I'm going to seek lit-net's advice on a subject. Some of you may know that I've been working part-time on a B.A. since completing my microbiology degree. I've never really liked lab work, and though I love science, I don't love doing science. At first I started studying the arts, political science and literature primarily, as a hobby taking advantage of subsidized education in Quebec.

Now, I will receive my B.A. in April, and on a whim I decided to apply for a M.A., at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. Because they have a really good program in 17th-18th century literature, which I have a passion for.

And then today, bizarrely, I got accepted.

Now lit-net I pose a question to you, should I do this?

As I see it:
Pros:
Well there's little going on in my life professionally or of any interest.
I was offered sufficient funding to make this readily affordable for me.
I think it would be a really interesting experience.

Cons:
Little professional benefit to be gained from earning this M.A.
Not sure I'm really committed to this.
Have to relocate to Hamilton from my beloved Montreal.

Updated 02-10-2012 at 08:31 PM by OrphanPip

Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

Of course only you can ultimately decide if it is the right thing for you to do, but I would say give it a try and least, and if you decide it is not really for you, or if the pros in the end do not make up for the cons you can always call it quits. And it may prove to be a rewarding and interesting experience. If I had the money and opportunity I would do it.