View RSS Feed

Paulclem

Maths Again

Rate this Entry
A few weeks ago, my Boss came and asked me if I would like to change my role in the organisation. I’ve been a Literacy Programme Manager for a few years, but recently, with the insecurity in the Public Sector, I have studied Maths in order to give myself another iron in the fire.

So, as I did the L3 exam through my organisation, this has been noted.
As an incentive I was offered the chance this year to study for a L5 Maths Subject Specific Qualification at Warwick University. It’s a one year course of distance learning and attending the university once a month.

I jumped at the chance, and said yes immediately, though she did give me the opportunity to think about it. It didn’t take any thinking about though. It would mean that I’d be double qualified to teach both Literacy and Numeracy, both with adults and in schools.

The job is very similar to what I’ve been doing – managing programmes in venues across the city, managing a team of Tutors, having an input into strategy, managing a venue, developing ICT and liaising between Tutors and the Senior Managers. The only real difference is that I’d have input into the delivery of the Maths curriculum rather than the literacy, and I would teach a couple of numeracy sessions a week.

I duly applied for the Numeracy L5, and found out I’d have to do an assessment at the centre. I’d have to get my revision notes out again for it. I was a bit anxious that this assessment required a 60% pass rate, whereas the L3 required 20%. It had to be done though. This included an unmarked written piece of 500 words which was designed for the candidate to demonstrate their literacy skills.