View RSS Feed

Paulclem

Rock in Spades

Rate this Entry
I’ve been down to the allotment today, and I took my wife’s portable DAB radio. It’s great, though it doesn’t work at our house as it’s a signal dead zone. (So my wife can’t use it!). It works everywhere else though, so I duly tuned in to Planet Rock.

I like rock music, though I was never a rocker, have never ridden a motorbike, I’ve never been wanted nor have I worn black leather. (I did once have a brown leather jacket that a friend gave me when I was a student – it looked like a failed lion tamer’s jacket, but I wasn’t choosy). The thing with rock music is that it sometimes throws up some ridiculous lyrics. Thin Lizzy – a great band – were on and were singing:
“Tonight there’s going to be a jailbreak somewhere in this town”
Er, that would be the police station then, or perhaps the prison. (I’ll have to start a thread on daft lyrics in popular songs. I think it could be fertile).

Anyway, as Alice Cooper was on, I was thinking back to when my radio illusions were shattered last year. I was doing the washing up – rock music’s great for working, be that washing up or digging – and there was a chronology mistake which had Alice repeating the same things he had just said. So then it dawned on me – Alice wasn’t sat at some big desk fading in the music, but was at home by his pool, perhaps listening to his own show with a critical ear. I think my radio illusion was a throwback to the 1980’s when you could ring up the station, (though I never did – I never had change in the 1980s), and speak to the celebrity DJ.