View RSS Feed

A Little Bit of Everything

Wow...it's been a while

Rate this Entry
Hi everyone! I've missed you!

So a lot has happened since I last posted. Our newspaper won some awards (it's first year!) and my teacher named an award after me (The [insert my last name] Initiative Award)! School was crazy with AP tests and my Hero Project (80 hours of community service at a tutoring center- Lily Adams did the same thing- yay!).

I went on my first (and probably last) cruise. It was to Mexico and was gorgeous. I got to swim with dolphins and that was fantastic.

I graduated high school! Magna Cum Laude, I had a 4.3 GPA and a couple chords around my neck- plus a pin fr having over 250 hours of community service. The graduation service was pretty good, short compared to others. I had a lot of family and friends come (had to bribe students to give me their extra tickets haha).

I went to that scholarship competition I mentioned... and won! Full ride, room, board, and lap top! So, long story short, I'm typing on the school laptop up here in the upper peninsula of Michigan (brrrr!). I'll be studying elementary education with a language arts emphasis.

My current classes are (well they start on Monday anyways):

Honors Origins of Western Values: antiquity (which means...old books! yay :] and the teacher is amazing, I've only met him twice but he is very enthusiastic and nice).

Honors Influences of Modern Art: European sources

Public Address (aka speech class. I've heard the teacher is as dry as sand from the Sahara)

Health Promotion (the mandatory health class for all students- it's on saturdays!)

and

Life Science for the Elementary Educator (easy biology but the teacher is slightly loopy! Half of our class will be spent in a virtual world. Have you ever heard of Second Life? We had to create an account and learn the basics- walking, flying, teleporting, changing clothes....etc. She likes to appear as a snow leopard sometimes. )