Conversation Between Quark and Sapphire

4 Visitor Messages

1. Hi ,

Well, I'm not going to lead the discussion, but I do have read the story about 20 times now So I am planning on being a pretty involved participant . I even started drawing a map of the cottages Not that I am getting very far with it, as there is no north/south/west/east description in the story

As for the math-problem. I tried solving it that way, but I have the problem that I can only make 2 quotations (I forgot to mention there's also a mother in the problem), while there are 3 unknows. I'll PM you the problem and how I tried to solve it.

Take care and have fun reading the story
    Sapphire
  2. Part 1

Hey Sapphire! Are you leading the Lawrence discussion this time around? I saw you were directing people on the schedule. If you are, it should be fun.

As for the math problem, yes, I was involved in math and sciences for a while when I was an undergraduate. The question you brought up is actually pretty easy, though. It's just translating a real world problem into an algebraic equation. Our equation looks like this in words: (age of the son) + (age of the father) = (total age of the family).
  3. Part 2

If there's two people in the family you mentioned and X is the sum of their ages, then we should be able to set up an equation with X on one side and Y (the age of the son) on the other side. That's settles the son and the total age of the family. Now, the father is twice as old as the son, so, if Y is the age of the son, then 2Y is the age of the father. The finished algebraic equation should look like this Y + 2Y = X. To test if this is true, let's say that the son is 16 years old: (16) + 2(16) = 48. That checks out. Really, that's not a hard story problem to unpack. Just make sure not to go too fast on easy questions as it's easy to screw something up that way.
  4. Hi ,
    Looking forward to the discussion on England, My England