PDA

View Full Version : Jane Austen : Northanger Abbey

Ramona
05-24-2005, 06:07 PM
I am currently in my final year in school. As required, we [ the pupils] are required to produce at least five book reviews by various types of authors. I've always been intrigued by authors that were featured in the eighteenth and nineteenth century and the multitude of books by Jane Austen provided no exception. I find her view on the world as well as the satire which is interwoven within the characters especially wicked and appealing. An outstanding innovation! <br><br>

malwethien
02-23-2006, 10:14 PM
I've noticed that this thread was started early last year, but I've just finished reading NA yesterday :lol: I've read some discussions about it when it was in the book club and I regret not being able to participate.

I enjoyed this book despite all the annoying characters (the heroine herself is not excempt from this label). Catherine's gullibility and naivete I attribute to her age and inexperience, but despite that, she is a likeable character.

As pointed out by a lot of readers, Austen shows more sarcasm in NA than usual. Catherine's preconceived notions of Northanger Abbey and her disappointment upon seeing it was the best part of the book.

There are lots more I'd like to say about this novel - but words escape me :)

Vedrana
11-06-2006, 05:51 AM
I really think NA is one of the most underrated books I've come across in terms of Austen novels. I definitely recommend it.

My mother kept mistaking it for Villette by Charlotte Bronte, so you can imagine how confused I was when she kept saying that she found it dark and depressing. Well...the mystery was eventually solved. Thank goodness!