PDA

View Full Version : My independent study?

Acrylic
05-07-2003, 05:41 AM
I am an English Literature student, and need to start thinking about my Independent study later in the year, which counts for a big part of my overall grade.

I am fairly new to the whole concept of 'good' literature, and have not read many books of the type I am expected to do... Classics.

I really liked Tess of the d'Urbervilles and Jude the Obscure; can anyone suggest any authors besides Thomas Hardy who I might like???

Sorry, I know this is a relatively *dumb* question, but I've really no idea at all.

Thanking in advance!

:D :o :rolleyes: :P :D

Shea
05-07-2003, 10:13 AM
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte is one of my favorites. I also liked Emma and Pride and Prejudice be Jane Austen. :)

Arteum
05-07-2003, 11:35 AM
I recommend starting off with early British literature. Here's the plan that I took:

1. The stories of Mrs Behn (the first woman novelist), the most well-known of which is "Oroonoko, or The Royal Slave" (1688)
2. Samuel Richardson, "Pamela" (2 Vols.) (1740) This was the most popular English novel of the 18th century. You will find it pretty outdated and intolerable in certain places, but it's absolutely necessary if you want to understand Fielding and his followers.
3. Henry Fielding, "The History of The Adventures of Joseph Andrews and His Friend Mr Abraham Adams", also the short "Shamela" and his monumental work "Tom Jones".
4. Lawrence Sterne (the most unimitable Irish/British author who played a tremendous role in early British literature), "The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman" and "Sentimental Journey Through France and Italy".

Maybe you will also want to work in Daniel Defoe and Tobias Smollett.

Then move on to the Gothic romance - such as Ann Radcliffe who was considered the queen of terror at her heyday (for example, "The Italian") and Matthew Lewis with his "The Monk".